Difference between revisions of "Connexion client options"

(Created article)
 
(→‎Transferring settings to a new computer: Modified Columbia University Library's instructions for Folger use)
Line 38: Line 38:
  
 
==Transferring settings to a new computer==
 
==Transferring settings to a new computer==
Connexion client options, macros, text strings, logins, toolbar preferences, search history, keymaps, display settings, etc. are stored on the C: drive of each computer you use, associated with your Folger network login (not your OCLC login). This lets people on shared computers customize Connexion the way they want. It also means that if you move to a new computer, you either have to reset all your customizations, or you have to copy your Connexion user profile from a computer that already has it set up. Here's how to copy your profile to a new machine:
+
Connexion client options, macros, text strings, logins, toolbar preferences, search history, keymaps, display settings, etc. are stored on the C: drive of each computer you use, and are associated with your Folger network login (not your OCLC login). This lets people on shared computers customize Connexion the way they want. It also means that if you move to a new computer, you either have to reset all your customizations, or you have to copy your Connexion user profile from a computer that already has it set up. Here's how to copy your profile to a new machine:
  
# While logged in to a computer that has the Connexion settings you want to copy, find your user profile folder in Windows Explorer. It is in a hidden system folder at this path (replace "UNI" with your UNI in the path): C:\Users\UNI\AppData\Roaming\OCLC\Connex\Profiles\
+
# While logged in to a computer that has the Connexion settings you want to copy, navigate to your OCLC user profile folder at C:\Documents and Settings\username\Application Data\OCLC\Connex\Profiles, but replace "username" with the username you use to log in to Folger computers  (the "Application Data" folder is hidden by default, so you might first need make it visible: Tools > Folder Options > View > Files and Folders > Hidden files and folders > Show hidden files and folders).
# Here, you should see a folder named "MyProfile." Copy this folder to a temporary location in your personal network drive (P:\)  
+
# Here, you should see a folder named "MyProfile." Copy this folder to a temporary location in your personal network drive (H:\)  
# Then, log in to your destination workstation and find the same location in the C:\ drive (C:\Users\UNI\AppData\Roaming\OCLC\Connex\Profiles\)  
+
# Then, log in to your new computer and find the same location in the C:\ drive (C:\Documents and Settings\username\Application Data\OCLC\Connex\Profiles where "username" is the username you use to log in to Folger computers)  
# Delete the "MyProfile" folder on the destination workstation.  
+
# Delete the "MyProfile" folder on the new computer.  
# Copy the original "MyProfile" folder from its temporary location on your P:\ network drive to the C:\ drive to replace the folder you just deleted.
+
# Copy the "MyProfile" folder from its temporary location on your H:\ network drive to the C:\ drive on the new computer.  
# Repeat steps 3-5 for additional destination workstations, and repeat steps 1-5 if you make subsequent changes to your settings which you would like to carry over.  
 
  
'''Note:''' This will automatically override all previous local configurations you may have made on the destination terminal. It cannot be undone unless you can restore the deleted MyProfile folder in the Recycle bin, but you can still reconfigure your client on each station independently of the others. This will not affect the settings and options of other users of the same terminal(s), as their Profiles are saved in another folder with their UNI in the path, which is not accessible to you.
+
'''Note:''' This will not affect the settings and options of other people who use that computer; their Profiles are saved in a C: drive folder under their username that only they can access.
  
 
[[Category:Description]]
 
[[Category:Description]]
 
[[Category:Staff policies and procedures]]
 
[[Category:Staff policies and procedures]]

Revision as of 17:49, 4 April 2014

The first time you use the Connexion client, go to Tools > Options to customize your "profile" to match Folger practice and your preferences. You can also create custom macros, text strings, and "User Tools." To avoid having to re-do the options when moving to a new computer, you'll need to copy your existing profile to the new computer.

Settings

Access
(information to come)
Authorizations
(information to come)
Batch
(information to come)
Classify
(information to come)
Derive Record
(information to come)
Export
(information to come)
Fonts
(information to come)
General
(information to come)
Heritage Printed Book
(information to come)
International
(information to come)
My Status
(information to come)
Printing
(information to come)
RDA
(information to come)
Record Display
(information to come)
Spelling
(information to come)
Toolbar
(information to come)
Z39.50
(information to come)

Transferring settings to a new computer

Connexion client options, macros, text strings, logins, toolbar preferences, search history, keymaps, display settings, etc. are stored on the C: drive of each computer you use, and are associated with your Folger network login (not your OCLC login). This lets people on shared computers customize Connexion the way they want. It also means that if you move to a new computer, you either have to reset all your customizations, or you have to copy your Connexion user profile from a computer that already has it set up. Here's how to copy your profile to a new machine:

  1. While logged in to a computer that has the Connexion settings you want to copy, navigate to your OCLC user profile folder at C:\Documents and Settings\username\Application Data\OCLC\Connex\Profiles, but replace "username" with the username you use to log in to Folger computers (the "Application Data" folder is hidden by default, so you might first need make it visible: Tools > Folder Options > View > Files and Folders > Hidden files and folders > Show hidden files and folders).
  2. Here, you should see a folder named "MyProfile." Copy this folder to a temporary location in your personal network drive (H:\)
  3. Then, log in to your new computer and find the same location in the C:\ drive (C:\Documents and Settings\username\Application Data\OCLC\Connex\Profiles where "username" is the username you use to log in to Folger computers)
  4. Delete the "MyProfile" folder on the new computer.
  5. Copy the "MyProfile" folder from its temporary location on your H:\ network drive to the C:\ drive on the new computer.

Note: This will not affect the settings and options of other people who use that computer; their Profiles are saved in a C: drive folder under their username that only they can access.