Difference between revisions of "Connexion client options"

(Added a step)
(category correction)
Line 57: Line 57:
 
# Copy the "MyProfile" folder from its temporary location on your H:\ network drive to the C:\ drive on the new computer.  
 
# Copy the "MyProfile" folder from its temporary location on your H:\ network drive to the C:\ drive on the new computer.  
  
[[Category:Description]]
+
[[Category:Cataloging]]
 
[[Category:Staff policies and procedures]]
 
[[Category:Staff policies and procedures]]

Revision as of 17:51, 13 February 2015

The first time you use the Connexion client, go to Tools > Options to customize your "profile" to match Folger practice and your preferences. You can also create custom macros, text strings, and "User Tools." To avoid having to re-do the options when moving to a new computer, you'll need to copy your existing profile to the new computer.

Settings

Access
(information to come)
Authorizations
(information to come)
Batch
(information to come)
Classify
(information to come)
Derive Record
(information to come)
Export
(information to come)
Fonts
(information to come)
General
(information to come)
Heritage Printed Book
(information to come)
International
(information to come)
My Status
(information to come)
Printing
(information to come)
RDA
(information to come)
Record Display
(information to come)
Spelling
(information to come)
Toolbar
(information to come)
Z39.50
(information to come)

Transferring settings to a new computer

Connexion client options, macros, text strings, logins, toolbar preferences, search history, keymaps, display settings, etc. are stored on the C: drive of each computer you use, and are associated with your Folger network login (not your OCLC login). This lets people on shared computers customize Connexion the way they want. It also means that if you move to a new computer, you either have to reset all your customizations, or you have to copy your Connexion user profile from a computer that already has it set up. Note: This will not affect the settings and options of other people who use that computer; their Profiles are saved in a C: drive folder under their username that only they can access.

Windows XP

  1. While logged in to a computer that has the Connexion settings you want to copy, navigate to your OCLC user profile folder at C:\Documents and Settings\username\Application Data\OCLC\Connex\Profiles, but replace "username" with the username you use to log in to Folger computers (the "Application Data" folder is hidden by default, so you might first need make it visible: Tools > Folder Options > View > Files and Folders > Hidden files and folders > Show hidden files and folders).
  2. You should see a folder named "MyProfile." Copy this folder to a temporary location in your personal network drive (H:\)
  3. If you are moving from an XP machine to a Windows 7 machine, go to the "Windows 7" instructions, below.
  4. Log in to the new computer and launch Connexion (this will automatically create the folder and file referred to in the next step).
  5. Find the same location in the C:\ drive (C:\Documents and Settings\username\Application Data\OCLC\Connex\Profiles where "username" is the username you use to log in to Folger computers).
  6. Delete the "MyProfile" folder on the new computer.
  7. Copy the "MyProfile" folder from its temporary location on your H:\ network drive to the C:\ drive on the new computer.

Windows 7

  1. While logged in to a computer that has the Connexion settings you want to copy, navigate to your OCLC user profile folder at C:\Users\username\AppData Data\Roaming\OCLC\Connex\Profiles, but replace "username" with the username you use to log in to Folger computers (the "AppData" folder is hidden by default, so you might first need make it visible: Control Panel > Appearance and Personalization > Folder Options > View > Show hidden files, folders, and drives).
  2. You should see a folder named "MyProfile." Copy this folder to a temporary location in your personal network drive (H:\)
  3. Log in to the new computer and launch Connexion (this will automatically create the folder and file referred to in the next step).
  4. Find the same location in the C:\ drive (C:\Users\username\AppData Data\Roaming\OCLC\Connex\Profiles where "username" is the username you use to log in to Folger computers).
  5. Delete the "MyProfile" folder on the new computer.
  6. Copy the "MyProfile" folder from its temporary location on your H:\ network drive to the C:\ drive on the new computer.